SEPTEMBER GARDEN: STILL HANGING IN THERE!!

EVEN THOUGH IT’S SEPTEMBER, THERE ARE STILL SOME EXCITING THINGS GROWING IN THE GARDENS.

I like to make vase arrangements using as many different flowers as I can.  That means in September I cut zinnias, asparagus fern, purple verbena and snapdragons from my garden plots, black eyed susans, purple asters, and perennial sunflowers from my home, and add wild flowers such as wild asters, golden rod, and white snakeroot from my home garden.  The more, the merrier, and the more colors, the more I like it.

In addition to making flower arrangements, I also did a late (late August) planting of green beans in my county plot.  They are producing very nicely already!  I even made Thai eggplant yesterday.  That is a yummy recipe which is very hot (spicy), and is served with rice.  It includes beans, eggplant, carrots, red onion, garlic, fresh ginger, cream sherry, brown sugar, vinegar, and chili garlic paste. It will make your ears stand up!!

I’m also still harvesting tomimis, which are turning out to be my second favorite tomato.  They are so prolific, disease free and dependable.  Not too small, either… and very tasty.  Pictures follow:

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.