OPEN GATES

Ten of the Morris County Community Gardens are having an Open Gates weekend next weekend on July 15 and 16.

Here’s the link:

https://morriscountynj.gov/2017/06/open-gates-weekend-highlights-positive-effects-of-community-gardens-throughout-morris-county/

It’s going be be a beautiful weekend, so check us out.

 

 

PICKLES! YUM!

CUCUMBERS=PICKLES!

I picked a few cucumbers this week, and had just enough time this afternoon to make three jars of garlic dills.  Becky and Amelia will enjoy those!

In addition, I got two beautiful Diva Cukes from CVG.

I also found a recipe on Blue Apron this week for Zucchini and Yellow Squash Enchiladas.  They were NOT quick and easy to make, but they were very tasty.  Another way to eat vegetables!  The spices were really interesting.. kind like a mole sauce.  I used 9 different spices to flavor the tomato sauce, one of which was cocoa.  I didn’t think this would turn into a cooking blog, but when you grow vegetables, you sort of have to eat them.  I have already been able to give away 4 zucchinis and some yellow squash to my zucchini-loving friends:  Marilyn, Jennie, Franz and Ann.  I really hope they enjoy them.  I may have gotten a little too enthusiastic about the squashes this year.